Lefse

For those of you who don’t know what lefse is here is the definition according to WikipediaLefse is a traditional soft, Norwegian flatbread. Lefse is made out of potato, milk or cream (or sometimes lard) and flour, and cooked on a griddle.

Since my grandfather is 100% Norweigian this has always been a staple at our Christmas table.  If you have not had it, it is delicious!  We prepare it with butter and sugar but there are several ways to eat it…none of which I have tried.  I don’t mess with a good thing:)

Anywooo…last weekend I took my second attempt at making homemade lefse with my grandma.  She has made it with her church for years and has all the equipment so I thought it was time I learn.  Now I just need a lefse grill.  Here are some pictures from the event:

Here are the lefse balls all rolled and ready.  See that circular board and stick in the background…the board is a special mat used for rolling out dough and the stick will be used to transfer the lefse dough to the grill.

This is the special lefse grill that is getting heated up and ready to go!

That is my grandma and my aunt rolling the dough out.

After rolling the lefse dough out you roll it onto a lefse stick.

 Then you roll the dough out onto the grill.

Here’s the dough grilling the first side.

The finished poduct.

So delicious.  If you’ve never tried it you should soon!

3 thoughts on “Lefse

  1. Yum Lefse! Wish I would have paid more attention when my mom made it during Christmas time. I get a little homesick this time of year because I wish I could be closer to home to do holiday cooking with my family. Marcus’s class did a “Cultural” Christmas two weeks ago and one of the girls brought in Lefse with Lingonberry jam (from Ikea) on it, so yummy!

Leave a Reply

