DIY Pirate Party Banner Tutorial

My poor neglected blog.  I have been so busy with LIFE since Avery’s surgery.  I am so sorry my readers:)  But I have some exciting things coming I promise!  Here is the first…

I had a pirate themed birthday party for Avery’s 6th birthday.  After Blake’s party I had some experience under my belt.  I did more things than I normally do for their parties but I figure why not go all out!  So here is my tutorial for a banner:

I printed out the letters for “Happy Birthday Avery” using the Rapscallion font.  Took a couple tries to get them the right size.

Once I had them printed I used a cup and drew circles around them and cut them out.  Not all of them were perfectly centered but you get the idea!

Then in order to dress them up a little I used my trusty little red Sharpie marker to draw a red edge on the circle.

The you need to get the triangles made.  I used 12 x 12 scrapbook paper to make them.  I got three out of each one.  Each triangle was 8″ long and 5 3/4″ wide.

Next I used my handy glue stick to put the letters on each triangle.

Once I had the letters glued on I punched two holes on either side of the circle to put the ribbon through.

Then I just strung the ribbon (I just used plain old ribbon you can buy at Michaels or Hobby Lobby) through each of the letters.

Apparently I forgot to take a picture of the full banner hanging but you get the gist!  I had a hard time keeping it up with the weight of the paper but I’m sure if I had been more creative it would have been no problem!  You certainly could make smaller triangles and it wouldn’t be so heavy.

I’ll be back with more Pirate Party ideas soon!

One thought on “DIY Pirate Party Banner Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Pirate Birthday Party « Miss Multitasker

Leave a Reply

