I have a heart baby…what I’ve learned

There are so many things to be learned by going through something like this.  I feel like we’ve learned SO much about ourselves and the people around us.  Here is a little bit of what I’ve learned…

…that we have a strong family.  Our family has been there for us throughout this entire journey.  They have comforted our tears, offered words of support, provided relief when we need a break from the hospital and so much more.  There are people in my family that I never knew had such kind hearts and I am so grateful that I have gotten to know them better and learned how kind they can be.

…that we surround ourselves with wonderful friends.  Our friends have been a great support system too!  They have brought baskets of food and activities for us, visited us when we needed it, taken care of Blake when we had to be at the hospital and SO much more.  We have had several offers of help already this time before we are even in the hospital.  We are so lucky.

…that we were put together to take care of each other.  My husband and I are very good at taking care of each other which is what a couple is supposed to do but we are GOOD at it!  It seems that we know what the other needs and provide that in the right moment.  I am so glad to have a wonderful husband.

…that a heart condition does not define a person.  I don’t think of Avery as ‘the kid with the heart condition’.  I think of him as my child.  I discipline him the same way I do Blake.  We expect just as much out of him as we do his brother.  I don’t want people to feel sorry for him and pity him because of this…he is a ‘normal’ little boy with a scar on his chest.  Honestly if we never told anyone I don’t think anyone would know he had a heart condition.  He has more energy than most of us do on a daily basis.  He’s just a normal as any other 5 year old.

…miracles do happen!  After going through all that we have with Avery we have to believe in miracles.  First off the miracles of babies is the first and biggest miracle.  For everything to form correctly and have no defects in their tiny little bodies can only be explained as a miracle.  Secondly we have seen miracles at work.  With Avery’s heart taking off and beating properly one hour before his surgery time we can only believe that was a miracle as well.

I will have much more to share as Avery’s next surgery comes up on October 12th.  This one is going to be a little tougher I think as he is much older and will be more aware of what is going on during the whole process.  I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

