Productive Weekend

I feel like the past few weekends I have not accomplished much of anything.  However this weekend was a different story!  Check out all the things I accomplished…pretty proud of myself.

The first thing I worked on is something I learned from an organization training I attended last week.  The speaker suggested making mailboxes for everyone in the house.  Then when there is something they need to look at it goes in there so they know it is for them.  I only have two right now as I don’t know if the kids need any yet but I am hoping that this will free up some table and counter space because we constantly have things laying there.  The other tip she gave us that I loved was to get a filing box and organize the important papers/items in there.  I altered her suggestion a bit to fit my life.  I got a file organizer and put hanging files in there.  In the hanging files there are and have folders in there too that are for important things: photography, daycare, Blake’s school stuff, Avery’s school stuff and more.  I used to have a pile of folders on the dishwasher which would just pile up and fall off when we moved it to the sink.  So now it is upright and taking up WAY less space.  I LOVE this and hope the system works like I’m hoping!

Got some of my fall decorations out for display.  Isnt’ that pumpkin cute.  Saw someone do this when I was on the Tour of Homes a few years ago and finally did it here.  Found the little fall colored beads at a garage sale for $.50!!  SCORE!

Hung the barn ledges that built with plans from Ana-White.com.  I built them two weekends ago (so I guess I was slightly productive) and stained them last week.  They were super easy and what I’ve been wanting in my living room for quite some time!  I LOVE them.  I only put two wrong holes in the wall to hang them:)  The first one went up smoothly with no removing of screws but the second was a different story!  They are NOT perfect (as my husband so kindly pointed out) but they are level and even AND I built them and am proud.  Now I just need to fill them.

I also hung this Ten Dollar Ledge shelf which also came from Ana-white.com.  This one was even easier and I am building another one for another wall in Avery’s room.

Another project I finally finshed was finishing off our bathroom.  I finally feel like it is complete!  I found the perfect pictures after looking for months!  Thank you Gordmans!  I saw these at Kohls too for twice the price…pays to shop around!


The final project that I accomplished in our bathroom was to put the handles on the vanity.  I have had these for months but I was SO nervous to do this because I didn’t want to drill the holes wrong.  I started to do this a week or so ago and the drill bit started to migrate in the wrong direction.  That scared me and thankfully I stopped in time and the mess up was covered by the handle.  They are now on and fully functional!  I LOVE our bathroom…speaking of I don’t know if I ever gave a full ‘tour’ of the finished product so that will be in a future post.

Ahh…I feel so good about accomplishing all that!  I hope the next weekend can be as productive.  I have a fall decoration project I’m working on so I’m hoping to finish that this week.

3 thoughts on “Productive Weekend

Leave a Reply

