Milwaukee Pt. 1

This past weekend we took our first family road trip to Milwaukee.  Since we can’t afford big expensive trips we decided it would be fun to take the boys to different stadiums to watch the Twins play.  So for the first one we picked Milwaukee because of the the retractable roof…in case of rain.

We left on Friday morning…not as early as intended but we got off about 8 am.  According to MapQuest it was a 6 hour drive.  We had loaded up the trunk with all of our bags and packed a box of things for the kids to do.  We also brought along the DVD player to keep the kids busy…which lead to our first stop.  Just outside of Owatonna Mike asked the kids what movies they were going to watch…CRAP, forgot the movies!  My brain jumped to having to go buy a movie at Target but my smart husband suggested stopping at Redbox and getting a few movies.  DUH!  So that is what we did and saved ourselves quite a few bucks.

Once we got back on the road and the kids got all hooked up things went smoothly.

 

We had packed a picnic lunch and stopped at a rest stop a little while into Wisconsin.  That was a quick stop and we were back on the road.  We got to the hotel by early afternoon and the kids were very excited to see that our room looked out over the waterpark.  Of course they couldn’t wait to get their trunks on and go swimming.  So we headed down to the waterpark for a little while so they could run off some steam.

After the waterpark we were all hungry so I tried to decide where to eat.  No one wanted anything specific until I decided I wanted a BBQ pulled pork sandwich.  I looked through the city guide provided by the hotel and found a place that sounded good.  I looked it up and found out they had a pulled pork sandwich on the menu.  Chancery’s Pub was delicious and we would highly recommend it.  The kids were especially excited to find out they have a ‘build your own’ sundae for kids.  Comes complete with cups of sprinkles, gummy bears, chocolate, caramel and crushed m&ms along with the ice cream that is topped with whipped cream and a cherry.  I, of course, had to try it too so I snuck a couple bites of the kids’.  Look at these babies…makes me reminise about the times we ate at Golden Corral when I was a kid.

We had no definite plans for the night after supper so we decided to find a theater and take the kids to see Cars 2.  We were lucky enough to find one close to our hotel and it actually wasn’t packed as I had expected.  I wasn’t too impressed with the movie due to all the ‘shoot em up’ stuff in the movie but the kids enjoyed it!

After the movie we headed back to the hotel and off to bed.  As we laid down to sleep we all realized it was kind of hot in the room.  We tried to no avail to turn on the air conditioner.  I suggested we call down for a fan and it would have helped the terrible night’s sleep but we didn’t do it and were all up and down all night.  In the morning we decided to call the front desk and were informed that there is a slot for the key card that you must leave the key in in order to run the air.  It is a way for the hotel to save energy which I think is great but it would have been helpful to have a sign by the slot in the room so people know what to do!  I did see a sign at the front desk about it but didn’t really read it or pay attention.  Guess we know for future….

To be continued…

2 thoughts on “Milwaukee Pt. 1

  1. LOVE redbox…and netflix and all of the like.

    Hey-I think that key card slot for the air conditioner is really a SMART idea! Too bad you had to suffer a night before figuring that out! I would have never thought to have to leave a key card there!!!

  2. I think it is a FABULOUS idea but I also think that they should have signage near the key card slot so people don’t have to suffer in a stuffy room. I noticed that WI is very big on recycling and I’m assuming the energy savings goes with it.

Leave a Reply

