TUTORIAL: Raised Bed Garden

I started a garden last year and it didn’t do so well.  The soil where we live is very rocky and watching my husband try to till it was kind of amusing but not so easy for him.  This year I decided to try a raised bed garden instead.  Not only do they look good but it gives me the opportunity to get some new soil.  I thought I’d share how I did it.

What You Need:

8 – 22″ long 4×4 posts

4 – 10′ long 2×10″ boards

4 – 3′ 3″  long 2×10″ boards

Lag bolts

Cordless drill with rachet bit to fit bolts

Drill bit

Rachet set

Post hole digger

Shovel

2 yards of garden mix soil

1.  Find a drill bit that is just a tad smaller than the screws that you are using to drill a guide hole for the bolt.

 2.  Line up one of the 10′ long boards with a 4×4 post.  Make sure that the end of the board is even with the edge of the post and the top is even with the top of the post.  Then drill a guide hole into the board and post.

3. Screw the bolt into the hole using your cordless drill.  I had trouble getting some of the bolts to go all the way in which is why I needed to have the rachet set.  Just use the rachet to get it all the way in.  Use two bolts on each side to ensure it is secure.

4.  Do the same thing to attach the 3′ 3″ board to the end of the post.  Line up the end of the short board with the outside edge of the long one.  Place two bolts into the short board side, making sure that you stagger them so they don’t hit the two you just placed on the long board. 

5.  Repeat until you have all 4 corners together.  It will make a 10’x3′ rectangle.

6.  Once you have the garden bed ready to install have a strong, handsome man help you move it to your location.  In order to figure out where I wanted to dig the holes I placed the bed where I wanted it and then made shovel marks all around the corner post.  Then when I moved it I knew where the holes should be dug.  Now grab your post hole digger.

7.  Begin digging.  You may need to start the hole with a regular shovel  The hole will need to be about 14 inches deep to accomodate the post and ensure that the outside boards of the bed are touching the ground (you don’t want any dirt spilling out underneath it). 

8.  Once you have dug all 4 holes for the bed you again need that strong, handsome man to help you lower it into the hole (or just some strong muscles…I did mine myself one end at a time).  When you lower it in you will want to ensure that it is flush with the ground (to avoid dirt spilling out) and if not then you may need to dig out a little more in the hole or a little dirt under the sides of the bed. 

9.  With the bed adjusted fill the dirt back in the holes.  Now it’s ready for the soil!  I got some garden mix soil from a local landscaping company.  They could deliver it but it was a hefty fee so I sent my hubby strong, handsome man to get the dirt.  He came in handy for shoveling it into the garden as well…as did a certain adorable 5 year old.

10.  Once the dirt is all filled in you will want to level it out before you plant.  It seems like a lot of work but it isn’t too bad for the results.  I am hoping to have a wonderful crop this year…last year was a bit pitiful!  Just so you know…2 yards of soil is a bit much but I have used it for other things.  You will likely need to take some of it out and we were a bit messy:)

Mine is all planted.  Waiting for the seeds to sprout so I’ll post pictures soon!

TIPS: 

  • Don’t try to do the bolts by hand…it will take you forever!
  • I tried to get the bed as level as possible but I don’t know if that is entirely necessary.  Mine isn’t perfect but it looks good.
  • When you dig the post holes I would recommend piling the dirt inside where the the garden will be as it is difficult to get out of the grass.
  • Build the beds on a level area…makes it easier.  I did mine in the garage and on the driveway.
  • I plan to add some chicken wire around it to keep the varmints out!  I will show this later.
3 thoughts on “TUTORIAL: Raised Bed Garden

  1. Pingback: Fruits of my Labor « Miss Multitasker

Leave a Reply

