Wedding Gift

I have been super excited for the wedding of my step brother, Patrick, and his fiance, Katie.  I know it is going to be decorated so adorable because they have a vintage theme.  Katie is so crafty and they are making most of the decorations.  That being said I knew they would appreciate something homemade for a gift.  So I took some ideas from Pinterest and went with it.

I made them a casserole carrier from this tutorial.  I picked a really fun print for the fabric.

The only thing I wasn’t happy with is that the lady suggested making lines to mark where the pieces line up…however I don’t like that they are still visible.  It is possible that there is some kind of sewing marker that erases but I don’t know about it.

One thing I did different was used smaller velcro because I didn’t read that part and so I ended up sewing on a couple pieces for different size pans.

Then to go with the carrier I painted a wooden spoon the bride’s favorite color…yellow…with directions from this tutorial.  I couldn’t find any shellac at my local stores (and lets face it, waited til the last minute so ran out of time) so I used a coat of clear poly.  It seemed to work great!

Last but not least I wanted to include a casserole dish but wanted it personalized so I put the couple’s last name on it.  I saw this tutorial on Pinterest also and decided I could put their last name on it!  It worked out well!

Then I wrapped it up pretty after seeing some cute ideas on Pinterest (I love it don’t you?).  The bride and groom requested that guests consider recycling paper to wrap their gifts so I used a grocery bag to wrap it.  Then added a pretty ribbon and some stenciled letters.

I really hope they love it as much as I do!  I will be back to share pictures of their wedding day as I’ve been asked to do their photography too!

4 thoughts on “Wedding Gift

  1. I’ve used sewing chalk, which is a pain sometimes since it wipes off if you are handeling the peice a lot. They also have sewing washable markers, but I’ve never used them so I can’t tell you how well they wash out. It turned out super cute, love the vibrant colors in the fabric!

Leave a Reply

